In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We have heard many stories of heroes in the past, both histrionically and in reality, that some fought off hundreds of thousands of invasive junta out of the country’s territory, or some used his own body to save many innocent lives when a natural disaster stroke. Today, even though stories are widely told by media, I believe it is still common to meet daily life heroes without the press’ participation, and that in this modern life heroes are still extant despite anyone’s telling otherwise.

“A flower’s fragrance spreads without wind.” This saying is a true description to modern heroes in our society. It is true, though, that society finds it impossible to regard any living man or woman as a hero. Media has long controlled one’s reputation, steering people for or against it - to their purpose - but those stories about the reputation are plausible. Media, naturally designed to attract people’s attention, are used to headlines and views counts that they are in favor of breaking news . Furthermore, they hardly represent the ultimate truth about one’s fame, because however great their effort, they could never cover every aspects of a story. This is the reason why a hero in the eyes of media could not last for long. People will soon forget them; audience have no connection or emotion towards media’s heroes; these heroes are not for common lives. Instead, intimate men and women in touch with our lives leave the deepest trace and become our models, despite media’s influence.

Actually, heroes are not hard to find. They are people who is with full responsibility to complete their duty. Ordinary workers are heroes regardless of their occupation, and with or without the attention of the media. They harvest the best-quality products in the fields to serve the entire country; they run every machines in factories producing necessary goods for customers; they climb up to the sky fixing electrical wires for the citizen; they sail afar the sea to bring back fresh batch of fish and seafood. Simply accomplishing their duty, they make sure that normal life is sustainable and advancing. Without these heroes, the world would fall into chaos: society regard them as heroes without the needs of media’s promotion.

Heroes should be those who win the war. True! I have great respect to men and women fighting their own battles, which consequently implements less burden to the society. They are true heroes. Look around, and you will see a lot of people carrying mental and/or physical disorder who - despite their disability - never give up, still stand by their two feet, living to the fullest, making own money and becoming an inspiration to the community. Helen Keller is a well-known example in spite of timeline. Everyone has their own package. People fight against their sickness, their distress, their suppression, unanticipated unemployment, ect. All heroes need the help from residents to win the war, so giving a hand to these people does not make them any less of a hero, but bolsters their strength and willpower to win a great victory. Living itself and not becoming a burden already makes a great hero.

In conclusion, life has been, is now, and will be full of anonymous heroes. Media could grasp control of one’s reputation - either by polishing it up or throwing it away – but they will never fully illustrate real heroes in modern society: men and women living, working, and fighting in everyday life.