Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The prompt states that some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom, and other believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning. I strongly agree with the second group of the people and argue that competition for high grades seriously hampers the quality of real learning.

Firstly, the procedure for real learning and the procedure for getting higher grades is different. In most of the cases getting higher grades have the shortcut ways, but for real learning there is no shortcut technique. For example, there are many guides in the market, which are designed for the high grade. In those guides, only the answers for particular questions are provided and just memorzing those answers a student can aces in the classrooms. This type of memorizing technique will not help the students to get the real learnig of a particular topic. The students should prepare the answers of the questions in their own by reading the topic, but this answers may not be as sophisticated as those guide. For this reason, student's own answers will nor get a high grade, which will lead a student to follow those guide and the memorizing technique. The example shows us that the competition for high grade demotivate the students to follow the real and authentic learnig procedue, and motivate students to follow some shortcuts. Thus, competition of high grades precludes the process of real learnig.

Secondly, in some cases the competitions make the students depressed and motivate the students to follow illegal way. When a student get lower grades in exam, he become depressed because his or her friends or parents will criticize him or her. Because of this depression the student may not like the academic life and later he or she may not continue study. In some cases, students follow illegal ways to get high grades. For examples, there are lot of student who copy in the exam, which is batantly an illegal action for a students. In some cases, student select the course teachers as thier home tutor and in return, those teacher help the studets to get a high grade by giving short suggestions. Ther examples, shows us that competitions make students depressed and in some cases it teaches the students to follow illegal ways. An real education never motivate a students to follow an illegal way.

In conclusion, competions for high grades may motivate students to do well in the classroom, but cannot guarantee the quality of the learnig. Therefore, for the obvious reason, competition for high grades seriouly limits the quality of real learning