some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided the operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Organizations, in general, need to make a profit to continue their activity in the environments. But, since some issues such as global warming, taking care of the environment, using recyclable materials as raw materials and so on are trending, some companies adopt different approaches through their business. If we take a look at environmental concerns, for example, we find out how important it is for companies to have an eye on social responsibilities they have, as it makes their business sustainable. Producing merchants are not harmful to the environments tells this fact to the customers we think as you think, and we care about your worries. So, from my point of view, a company in the 21st century in most cases cannot states that I just want to make money without taking care any responsibility for society.

Companies used to have a different perspective to their business. They just wanted to make more and make more money. It could be easily figured out through management theories, all of them were concerning about optimizing the work procedures. Henry ford was one of the eminent entrepreneurs in the history. He established the myriad production perspective to produce more and more cars, in order to made more money. This perspective had been prevalent in most major companies in the world for decades, until in 1980’s that for the first time human resource management has been stated and completely changed the view.

From that time, more companies tried to care more about their employees and we can consider it as the first step to well-being of the societies and the environment, as their employees are members of the societies and they have a knock-on effect on the environments. The process has taken 30 years, and during that time it was the major outlook of companies. After that, some bigger issues appeared on the way of making money of companies. Right now, companies have to think about global warming, the material they use, how to treat with their employees and what they do for the society they are part of it. In my country, for instance, one of the major publishers named Ghalamchii has provided scholarships for thousands of indigent children who are talented to pursue their dreams at universities, but they cannot afford it. These kinds of scholarships are also, prevalent in western countries too. Some of them are very generous, even they give this money, in some cases around 35000$ annually, to migrant students, just to pursue their dreams.

However, in some third world countries, many corporations still do not care about anything but money, and, unfortunately, the law cannot tie and force them to act more responsibly. This situation usually exists in the countries suffer from lack of competitive environment. Or maybe, they have tons of raw materials, so they do not care about the environment and because, in my opinion, people in these countries live in lower standards, they do not know about concepts such as social responsibility and society well-being.

As a whole, in a wealthy and standard environment, such as most westerns countries, this is normal for companies to help the people in the society, actually this is an action to promote the market position of the brand and can make people also satisfied. Therefore, in my opinion, companies have to spread well-being in societies because in the long-term view it will be beneficial for them.