Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

There is a hot debate over whether the government should make decision based on the public's sound or on their own judgement. Nowadays, the preference to live in a democratic society rather than an autocratic one is an obvious proof that we hope the leader can stand together with us. However, in my point of view, it is not reliable to adhere to trend of the public all the time.

No one will doubt the importance of the government to be representative of the wills of the public. It is also the reason why we vote to elect our leader by comparing their policies and thoughts. For instance, the government of Argentina just made abortion legal recently. For the catholic world, it is a shock as well as a breakthrough. If the government had not respond to wide call from most of the woman and chosen to remain strict regulation over abortion, there would be nonstop suffering from infection and death caused by illegal abortion.

However, it could be risky if government officials make all decisions following the public's will. In certain issues which are complex and debatable, involving careful evaluation by experts from a more comprehensive aspect may lead to a better decision. For example, a group of people strongly proposed to the government of building a highway through the mountain and deep into the community located in remote countryside in Taiwan several years ago. However, there are other inhabitants who argued that this would be devastation to their homeland before any economic growth happens. In this situation, if government had listened to either side of the opinion, it would be injustice and risky. They finally decide to build a substitute highway based on their judgement, forming through discussions with economic and environmental experts.

In the final analysis, there should be no definite answer to whether they listen to the public or decide on their own will bring the greatest benefit to the whole society since every issue faced is independent. Yet, it is for sure that taking only either approach seems to be an incomprehensive behavior of a leader.