Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

To be an effective political leader, one must be constantly committed to principles and not to be vacillated on its principle. Adherence to the own principles values which shows puissant leadership quality and clairvoyance of the leader. Our history reflects many such leaders who had the pertinacity of their morals and eventually lead to successful governance. Critics may say that the political leaders who reconcile with the public for their better future and abandon principle for the sake of compromise but, eventually they will see to be a failure of leadership. Hence I agree with the second part of the statement that political leaders must stick to their principles to become successful.

Firstly, leadership quality encompasses industriousness, artful, and determination of auspicating the things on the base of self-confidence and not swaying with other opinions. For example, Abraham Lincon fought for slavery in Africa and attenuated jaundice in white and black without listening to others and sticking to their own rules. Lincon also convinces the north that slavery was evil, detrimental and people are still ambivalent about the effects of slavery. He was also convinced that ending slavery was worth monetary for the loss of cost and human life. If Lincon had not determined his rules and principle and had yielded to the public opinion and taken a more conciliatory attitude, he would not have created such a positive change in the history of the nation.

Secondly, this quality of leadership not only conducive to the leader but also helps to inspire and incentivize others to make a humongous change in society. For example, Mahatma Gandhi always uses nonviolent policy and supporting the truth which was acts like the catalyst for the independence of India. If he had resorted to the violence and conciliate with the public then a dramatic change of freedom might not happen.

Moreover, when anyone sways with the public opinion it becomes the social blunder to identify the solution or conclusion. However, a political leader can listen to the public problems which are essential to the leader but must find out extrapolation by himself based on their principles. This way the communication will remain clear and blunder won't happen.

In totality, the leader always has some quality and principle to follow based on the context or the experience. This will conducive to maintain the social framework, and political structure without blunder and becoming a more effective political leader.