Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

A society is a complex being, hence its success cannot be judged by a single all-encompassing criterion. The absolute collective good of the state is often a concept susceptible to problematic interpretations, while the welfare of each individual person is an ideal that can hardly be achieved by any society. When a society grasps the intricate balance between the general wellbeing of its population on a macro scale and the individual freedom and right, it will thrive.

For a developing country lacking resource, the society is often faced with the choice between the collective good of the society, often in the form of rapid economical development, and the individual wellbeing. Often the astonishing economical miracles of many fast-developing nations, the greater good, arise at the expense of the sacrifice of many individuals. For example, the Chinese Three Gorges Hydro-electricity project now supply a huge proportion of the country's electricity need, sustaining the rise of hundreds of large cities and the livelihood of millions. However, when the gigantic dam was built, thousands of inhabitants around the Yangze River had to leave their hometown behind and re-establish their livelihood elsewhere. It is an enormous sacrifice made by these people, but it does form the basis of the economical success of China, which in turn lifted millions of its population out of poverty.

However, the concept of collective good becomes problematic when a government is completely indifferent to the basic right of its citizens, especially the minority groups. The abstract notion of collective good is often misused by dictatorship to legitimise their wrongdoings, such as in the case of the Soviet Union. Its national income was lavishly spent on developing weapons and its military, while millions of people die every day in insufferable famine. It sure consolidated the inexorable position of Soviet Union in the Cold War, yet the wellbeing of the society suffered as a result.

The notion of a greater good is also extremely abstract and subject to multiple interpretations, some of which damage the wellbeing of its society than enhancing it. It is not rare to see it being misused by politicians in even democratic societies to marginalize minority groups. For example, the rights of LGBTQ society has long been ignored in the US, for the majority of the population believe that they corrupt the moral of the nation. Therefore, a successful society should take particular care to ensure the wellbeing of its voiceless minorities and that not just the majority of the citizens are listened to. We cannot say the US was a great society, if the voice of its marginalized minorities are so suppressed, even if the majority of the society is satisfied.

As explained above, the wellbeing of society is achieved by minding the wellbeing and right of its individual citizens, and achieving a fine balance of collective and individual good.