Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Education is essential for the society to function properly because it helps raise children in a way that they can adequately function as social participants. However, it is still debatable what to teach the students in educational facilities. The most important goal for a pedagogue should be to help children learn how to logically reason because it is more beneficial for students than learning morality.

Admittedly, morality is one of the important characters that students should possess. The problem with teaching morality through an education system, however, is that it is a very subjective matter to decide what is right and wrong. Historically, it varied so widely among different societies what they considered moral and desirable. While the German society under Adolf Hitler's reign valued totalitarian morals, the current American society cherishes individualism. Sometimes, it turns out that one of the moralities that some societies has contained not adequate to a contemporary situation. Deciding which morality to promulgate is a too complex question to answer that it is better not taught in schools.

The strength of being able to logical reason is that one has an ability to decide what is right or wrong by himself/herself. In most of the mundane situations, acting right or wrong is not so palpable because the same action could be beneficial to society in one situation but not in the other. Therefore, it is bootless to teach which specific action is desirable in general. When you have enough logical reasoning skills, you can decide what is the right thing to do considering the situation by yourself.

Moreover, logical reasoning equips citizens to critically introvert the prevailing morality and ameilorate it further to help develop the society. Giving some tips to service providers is one of the traditional American cultures that other societies do not have. That has been beneficial to young part-time workers since tips helped them financially. However, some restaurant or cafe owners decided to rely only on tips to give the employees payment, which deteriorated the financial situation of the workers. This change alerted many owners with logical reasoning and they decided to deny relying only on tips and instead pay their workers set amount of salary. If the enterprise owners did not have logical reasoning skills, they could have hesitated to defy to existing cultural morality or could not even aware of the problematic situation.

Morality is definitely one of the traits that every member of a society should be aware of. However, teaching how to logically think is more beneficial to society because it has additional benefits that teaching morality could not bring.