Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

Our civilization balances on the fine line of morality; on one side it's the measuring stick to give the acceptance of society at large on the other side is the abandoned immoral beings ostracized as unsocial or even anti-social. The guidelines of moral rectitude, as perceived by a society, is the sieve to filter and at the same time the encouragement for everyone to follow the societal normalcy. It's the logical reasoning of humans that ascertains such behavioral ethics and gives the capability to discern what is right and wrong given no formal guidelines are there to decide at a completely new situation.

For a child learning at a kindergarten on how to respect parents may be a first step to impart such foundation, it's the why and what that makes the more impact. Those inquisitive minds are better in logical reasoning than the grown ups, bogged down by rules. Giving the rationale behind such aspects will improve the morale of the populace from the grass root level. The morality should teach a school student on how to keep one's surroundings clean, but the reasoning behind it would give them a better perspective. Cleaning their surrounding should not interfere with dirtying other area. Nitpicking every such detail in the education system will derail the whole system and get overwhelmed by such books on morality and yet will fail to cover all such considerations. Giving them the reasoning that, cleanliness is deserved by everyone and it's the matter of health and hygiene, will help them help others to understand the such fact and would trickle down to everyone in the society and would have a larger impact.

Again, morality may tell someone in one society that it's alright to hold hands with your friends, yet other society may have different understanding of such friendliness. One society may ask to wear certain kind of clothes, while the other may differ in their idea. Now such things can give rise to arguments as to why would society ask one to behave such a way. And yet again, the "why" took the reasoning to find the rationale behind such behavior. And that's what brings open mindedness to a society and bettering the morale at large.

Thus it's the logical reasoning that takes higher importance over teaching morality in educational system.