Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Others argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is, in fact, the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The author adduces that there are two different perspectives for the benchmark of a great nation. While some people believe the successes in the field of government, art, science are the indicator; another group defines a great nation according to its citizen’s welfare. In what follows, I will list the possible reasons for both outlooks; finally, I will posit my position.

The group which considers the achievements in the various fields as a definer of a great nation may hold this belief that all of the success and triumphs are because of the background and support provided by the nation. Indeed, all successful individuals in a society thrive on that nation and gain the advantages of its existed sources. Consequently, if the nation is in a good stan, it could present the required adherent for the thrive and triumph of its individuals. According to a noteworthy statistic released in the Top Tens Website, the United States is listed as the most successful country in the world. The varied sources and provided rearing by the society of the US make this country as the most successful one where individuals such as Bill Gates, Mouhammad Ali, and Elvis Presley prosper their talents. In this scenario, how it is possible to achieve these successes without having a great nation?!

As mentioned, there is another group who generalized the topic and considered the welfare of all denizens as the hallmark of greatness. This group seems to gain a fair attitude toward the issue. Since the flourished talent of some group of people is not only for the sake the national greatness. Factors such as the talents, family support, and individuals’ endeavors also have a salient part in these achievements. On the other hand, the base pillars of welfare in each nation are high propriety of jobs, high-level medical care without charge, and well-education system. If a Society possesses all these factors all people will own a high-standard lifestyle; therefore, a great nation will shape with these standards.

My perspective is mostly aligned with the second group’s outlook. First of all, the considered reason for this group is so logical and plausible. In addition, I prefer to mention another issue about the failure of first group’s attitude to verify the first group. The underestimated factor by the group who considered the striking achievements by the society as an indicator of greatness is not all achievement of the society is for the sake of the public’s welfare. A lucid instance which clarifies my claim is the nuclear energy achievement of the North-Korea. The North-Korea governor completely supports this affair, he allocates the whole budgets of his nation for this task. Now this nation possesses this achievement; however, it costs a lot for the north-Korean people. They become isolated and live in the threat of possible wars. In this case, is it rational to merely focus on the achievements of the nation?! Of course. The welfare of the people is the surest way for the evaluation.

To wrap it up, all discussed arguments illustrate my view is mostly close to the people who consider the welfare of the national as the benchmark of a great nation.