Studying foodways – what foods people eat and how they produce ,acquire,prepare,and consume them-is the best way to gain deep understanding of a culture.

What can we say about peoples' culture by their food patterns? Some would argue that now foodways does not determine the culture and customs of the nations since the process of globalization destroy the borders between different kitchens, so any person has access to all kind of food. Nonetheless, others would state that the culture keeps a connection with food traditions in countries. The reason for that is that food patterns profoundly affect fairy tails, folklore.

To begin with, some may say that we lose our individuality in terms of food.This can happen since the food preferences are determined not by traditions but by the commerce and fashion. For instance, Japanese food was trendy in recent years in Russia. It was quite challenging to find a person, who did not try both to cook sushi and to go to Japan restaurants.The principal reason for this fashion was commerce that popularized this kind of food. However, this not prevent from consuming traditional food. According to the surveys that were accomplished in Moscow, Japan food does not influence the traditional food for New Year. Tradition dishes such as Olivie and salads with fish became the ground of new year. I knew that the situation in America is the same. No one is able to force Americans to reject from turkeys on Thanksgiving Day. Thus the globalization, commerce and fashion do affect the foodways, but not determine them is the reason why food patterns keep their significance.

On the other hand, foodways formed by affecting various specialties that different nations have, so they are a perfect source to understand culture. All nations have different products to grow or different animals to hunt. This is the reason, why kitchen of all nations is si highly diverse one from another. For instance, northern nationalities of Russia are not able to plant any vegetation because of serve climate that they live in. They cannot hunt since the environment does not provide enough food for developing big animals such as moose, so the only source of food for these nations is fish. That leads to high diversity in fish preparation and using of fish as a symbol in fairy tails. That shows us the link between food patterns and culture. Both of them are formed under the pressure of environments, so they have to be connected. If we turn to people, who lived in central or south regions of Russia focused on vegetal food because they have a lot of lands those are suitable for growing food. These traits of food patterns exist to now and have reflected in culture. The examples for that is that Ukraine culture, that was the south region of Russia is highly connected with fields through the folklore. This is a link between culture and foodways.

Ultimately, after considering both sides of the issue, it must be concluded that foodways provide insight into nations' cultures. Food patterns are a reliable source of information since they are not significantly impacted by commerce and fashion and because they are inextricably linked with culture.