Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Throughout the history, one of the indices of development and civilization in each society is the literacy rate of its citizens. In consequence, the authorities are endeavoring to make new educational policies in order to improve the educational system. A controversial question regarding this issue is whether the teachers' salaries should be according to their students' performance or not. Some people are inclined towards the opinion that because having a penchant for applying effective methods, teachers should be paid based on students' performance. But I, despite the general consensus, believe that it is not illegal to determine teachers' income according to their students’ performance due to some reasons. In what follows, I will aptly explain my viewpoints.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that if the societies want to behave fairly about teachers, teachers' salaries should be relative to their hours which they work instead of their performance. As a matter of fact, determining the salaries of teachers based on students performance is not fairly because many schools only register top and intelligent students. Accordingly, it is obvious that the performance of students from these types of schools is generally higher than other schools which do not have any limitation for registering the students. In addition, there aren't any valid indices for determining the students' performance. To illustrate, suppose the situation that schools pay teachers' according to students' performance. The first question should be responded is how we can calculate the students' performance? If schools determine the marks of the students as one option. It is possible that this policy leads teachers to make a mistake. In conjunction with this idea, teachers who are not honest can easily report the grads of his students higher than they are. As a result, determining the teachers' salaries based on their students' is not the valid way.

Another equally significant point to be mentioned is that hardly can anyone deny the fact that teachers are not responsible for students. In other words, teaching is the teachers' duties and studying is the students' duties. In each class, there are some students who are not interested in lessons or learning. Hence, although teachers use various methods for teaching, their methods will not affect their ambitions and they don't pay heed to what teachers teach, since considering them as some ironic illusions. It is crystal-clear that although there is great correlation between how teachers teach and how much students learn if teachers instruct well, it is not their duties whether students have a high performance or not.

In a nutshell, contemplating all the above-mentioned reasons, one soon realizes that having the unfair comparison and not being responsible for students, both, are the main reasons why teachers' salaries should not be based on students' performance. Thereupon, I strongly suggest that authorities put more emphasis on using the valid ways for determining the teachers' income.