There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts—especially at a great cost in money and jobs—to save endangered animal or plant species.

Little adjustments could lead to a big change. Necessary is that a lot of people are involved in doing so. If everyone who is part of a society realises a little change in their behaviour outcomes will be extraordinary. In case of saving endangered animal or plant species there are a lot of possibilities to change ecologic habits.

First of all, if everyone is conscious about their energy usage people are able to reduce their level. In many households, energy levels are rising to levels far above average norms. With simple changes in habits energy levels will decrease enormously, which is very positive for endangered animal or plant species because the pressure to generate energy reduces also. Examples of changing behaviour are reducing the amount of lamps which are shining, take a short shower, pull on a sweater instead of increase the temperature and using eco friendly product.

Secondly, if companies take a critical look over their business many of them will see that there are processes which could be more friendly for environment. Little change in package material, transport and electricity level could make a big difference.

Also, there are a lot of people unconscious about the results of their behaviour. People and companies have to be aware of their current behaviour to change this behaviour into more eco friendly behaviour. For example, as a company is aware about the negative effects of using a lot of paper, they could change this behaviour into a behaviour where they are going to mail instead of print or fax. As a result, if many companies decrease their usage of paper, there have to cut less trees which lead to a better living area for many species.

To conclude, people could make big differences by doing just a little bit. However, to make a difference it is necessary that the amount of participating people, companies and governments is major. So all those people have to be informed about possibilities in reducing energy levels, change certain behaviour patterns and good alternatives for products and behaviour. As a final conclusion, the translation of a Dutch proverb: ‘’ many hands make easy work’’.