Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In this day and age, many people have the urge to be mavericks. These people believe they have a unique idea that can change the world, and thus, they do the best they can in order to implement it. Nevertheless, many do not succeed in doing so. One theory is that the rate of success depends on the ability of a person to take into account the opinions of others and their thoughts regarding his plans. While some believe being too reliant on what others think might hurt the chances of a person to promote his ideas, I believe that in order for your ideas to succeed, and for you to become a lasting legacy, it is essential to listen to others for several reasons.

Firstly, I believe that listening to others concerns is an essential part of reshaping your idea in order to make it better. It is true that we might, at first, feel the criticism is meant to hurt us and make us disbelieve in ourselves and in our ideas, but in most cases, criticism is meant to help us. Without it, it would be very hard for a person to acknowledge the problems that might occur from the implementation of his idea. Therefore, I think it is crucial to be open to criticism since it helps you gain insights regarding the problems in your idea.

In addition, no idea can be implemented alone, and even the most creative and talented maverick needs other people on his side that will help him turn his idea into reality. For example, Steve Jobs, the inventor of the iPhone, would never have succeeded in actually creating the device if it weren't for the partners who worked with him. Since no one would want to work with a person who is not open to any sort of criticism, because they will feel unwanted and irrelevant, it follows that being open to such criticism is crucial in order to gain the support needed to implement an idea and become a lasting legacy.

Of course, criticism can also have negative outcomes that might hurt one's chances of becoming a legacy. For example, a person might be very hurt by one pernicious critic and thus lose confidence in himself. In such a case, a person might abstain from promoting his ideas due to personal doubts raised by various critics. Even though this is a valid concern, I believe that a person who would be hurt so badly by critics is one that does not have the qualities needed to become a legacy in the first place. Therefore, only those who would not be hurt by such critics are potential legacies, and thus, one who has such potential would only gain from outside criticism.

In conclusion, criticism is an essential part of the implementation of any idea, and thus, every person trying to promote his ideas must be open to it. Without criticism, a person might find himself with an idea full of problems, and without the partners needed to turn the idea into reality.