To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The thesis stated is “To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities”. I would like to provide my view in the below sentences.

As the good old cliché says “When you are in Rome, do as Romans do”. It is understood that Romans can be expected to behave in a manner that is represented by the city of Rome. Is this cliché still holds true in the current world? This may be questionable in the modern world because Rome would consists of people from various societies who would have settled due to some reasons. One of the reasons can be career. Therefore now it is extremely difficult for anyone to understand the characteristics of a society by just studying its major cities.

On the contrary, characteristics of any society is understood by studying its villages and small towns where the roots are still preserved. In ancient times, the major cities of any society depends upon economic, cultural and political centers of that society. Now a days it is not the same. Due to vast developments across the globe this definition has altered. People started migrating from one place to another in search of opportunities, power and money and so on. Any major city of the world would now consists of people of different nationality, community and race.

Can study of Paris helps us to understand the characteristics of France? Can the study of Mumbai and Bangalore helps us to evaluate the characteristics of India? The answer to all these questions is a big “NO”. Due to surplus opportunities, people started migrating to the capital cities of any country. Paris is now the home of popular designers, top models and garment manufactures who might have roots in other countries. As a result the study of Paris might not accurate to understand the characteristics of French society. Similar in the case of India. There can be high chances for inter race marriages due to affluent opportunities for the career growth. As a result the new generation contains both the traits of their parents. This makes even more confused to understand the characteristics of the present society.

In sharp contrast, the small villages and towns gives the real traits of that particular society. The villagers and other common people who are residing in the township would carry the characteristics by retaining the traditions which are passed to them by their ancestors. In ancient days due to lack of transport, people used to stay where their roots are originated. This lead to understand the characteristics more easily just by concentrating on the traditions and customs of the major cities.

As I have provided irrefutable evidence in support of stance, I would like to conclude my agreement by reiterating that to understand the traditions of the society it’s better to study more about its villages and township instead of major cities.