The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built.

The given argument clearly says that the author who wrote the letter to editor doesn't want the council to grant permission for road consutruction in West Lansburg. I would strongly condemn the author thoughts with proper reasons. Below is the justification for my opinion.

Firstly, it is mentioned that the governemt declared a wildlife sanctuary for tufted groundhog but the cause for this decisssion is not provided. May be its because of water pollution or it can be due to lack of food resourcess. Secondly there is no information regarding the current population count of these animals. If it is in few hundreds or thousands then we should think about the argument, otherwise we can simply discard it. It can be because of tsunami, the count has been drastically.So, the author should provide information for the prohibition of development in coastal area.

Secondly, the author cited the example of Eastern Carpeneria which had seen the decilne of sea otter population. The author no where mentioned the cause for the decline in count. He simply stated that decilne happened after the repeal of the sanctuary status in 1978. It might be a just coincidence. There is no data stating the previous and current count of otter sea animals. May be even after providing necessary resources, the government failed to maintain or improve the immunity of these animals.

Moreover the author compared the Lansburg issue with the Eatern Carpenteria which occured almost three decades ago. This is a huge difference. The climatic conditions may vary eventhough the places are nearby. If the government of Lansburg has a plan to build the roads with disturbing the biodiversity and environment then I think it should allow the plan even when there is a strong criticsm.

There are many flaws in the argument sated by author. I would suggest him to provide relevant data like statistics of the animals population in the past few year. I would recommend him to demonstrate the reason for the decline in otter population in 1978 by providing valid evidence. Without these things it is hard to judge whether the council should allow the roads to be built or not.