To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The issue that one must study the cities of a society to understand its most important traits and characteristics is a debatable one. In the past, when there were no facilities to commute, people tend to stay in their own places. So, at that time one could understand the characteristics of a society by simply studying its cities. But in modern era, this is not sufficient, for cities now have different people came from different parts of the country. And people in the cities doesn't practice customs and traditions of their society. Actually, to understand the most important characteristics, one has to study its villages rather than its cities alone because the traits and characteristics are preserved in villages only.

Firstly, present cities have people who came from various societies. For example, consider the, Garden city of India, Bangalore. In this city, you find people speaking different languages like Telugu, Tamil, and having different personalities and lifestyles. These people migrated to Bangalore for Employment from other states like Andhra Pradesh, Tamilnadu. So, they have different customs and traditions, which makes difficult to understand the important characteristics of its society.

Secondly, people in cities will not practice their traditions and customs because they are busy in their careers and they don’t have time, like in the past, to follow them. For example, consider the Pongal festival, ancient people celebrated this differently compared to modern people because they have necessary resources which the modern people cannot obtain.

Thirdly, people in the villages preserve the traits and characteristics of their society compared to the people in cities. Although there are less people in villages now because of migration, one can find their traditions whenever they visit the villages.

But as the popular dictum goes, “When you are in Rome, do as the Romans do.” It means City of Rome reflects the characteristics of Roman society. It is true in the past. But now, when you look at the people of Rome, City of Rome constitutes the people of various societies. So, it is difficult to understand the characteristics of its societies by studying its cities only.

In conclusion, I agree that the studying of cities helps in understanding of their societies, but only partially. To fully understand, one must study villages not cities only.