Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

The issue that the laws and the legal system can not change the problems of modern society is a debatable one. I agree with this because laws won't change people permanently if they are like this from centuries, even if laws managed to change them, the change will be ephemeral and the problems will be relapsed, and to change them permanently, awareness programmes and education are needed.

Firstly, consider the modern India, open defecation is still a problem there. If the government passed a law to prevent it, this problem will be solved permanently. But, some still defecate during times, because they are like this from way back, when no one is present. And as government can not check every place, this problem will relapse after sometime.

Secondly, consider the plastic problem, people stopped using the plastic, for its unavailability because of the ban. In India, the laws will be strict initially and after sometime, they will become effete. So, plastic will become available, people will begin using it.

Finally, this is also the case for deforestation and pollution problems, and laws and the legal system cannot solve them permanently. Hence, to solve them completely, awareness programmes are necessary. These programmes are successful in India. consider the "Swatch Bharat " programme of Modi, which succeeded in solving the open defecation in many areas in India.

Some argue that the felonies like Rapes and murders can be diminished by bringing stringent laws. But this is not applicable to every problem.

Hence, i believe that laws and legal system cannot solve problems completely.