To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Metropolitan cities provide valuable information in a wide range of area. Economic, level of education are just two examples of social aspect information available in the big city. However, I believe that mere study of major cities in a country would not allow people to grasp the most significant trait of the society, since the small town and studying the history of the country as a whole would be as much as important major cities.

First, major cities are revolutionized with the emergence of technology and urbanization. After industrialization, giant corporations and companies run their office center in the major cities. Accordingly, This approach provokes the flood of individuals from small cities and villages to live in the urban area to find a proper career fitting their ability. This immigration makes a tremendous change in the community and adds various factors to the characteristics of the society. Therefore, reaching a conclusion regarding the most important characteristics of the society carries error that cannot be excluded from analysis.

Second, studying the history of a region plays a crucial role to comprehend the characteristics of a society and sometimes studying just the history of major cities of the region has bias information. For example, analyzing the Yazd city in the Yazd province would enable researchers to grasp valuable information. However, Bam city which is just one of the smallest village of the region plays a pivotal function to understand the society of the province. Bam city is a historical city where people of the region left it centuries ago because of the prevalence of drought in the village. As a matter of the fact, they economized and saved to fight against these kinds of problems in the future. As a result, the most important trait of inhabitants is being risk-averse. This example clarified the point that we should rule out the small cities and villages and studying the history of them should be considered by researchers.

In conclusion, I believe that big cities reflect the economic situation of the society. However, to have a well-rounded understanding regarding society, one should study the small cities as well.