To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To know about the crucial aspects of a society one must learn about its major regions as most of the social phenomena is occured in the big cities. Hence, I strongly agree with the given statement that, to have a sound learning about a society one must learn about its important geographic areas.

First of all, most of the people tend to live in the major cities of a society or a country. As many type of people live in the big towns, amalgamation of multi-culture is clearly found in the larger areas. People from different regions, different towns as well as various countries mostly live in the big cities. By living in big areas one can have the facility to understand and distinguish different cultures which can help one to know more about the society as a whole. Anyone can easily notice the cultures, social norms, morals and values by living in a cosmopolitan city. For this reason it is expected that to gather a vast knowledge about a society one should learn about its big cities. For instance, we know that the Japanese are very polite and they give the first importance to ethics and values while doing business or interacting with others and we know this only by knowing about the people who live in Tokyo.

Secondly, most of the festivals of a society is celebrated widely in the capital of a country. Though festive mode can be noticed all over the country in a national festival, the major cities play significant role to carry out the celebrations more perfectly. As it can be inferred that learning about the ways a celebration is done in a society can be correlated with the learning of a society overall, it is fruitful to learn about the major cities. Furthermore, not learning about major cities will result into a huge gap of knowledge about a society. For instance, the most popular social aspect in Thanksgiving ceremony is to eat turkey with the family members and it can be easily known by the people if they know that the people of New York or San Francisco do this.

However, some people might refute earlier explanations by stating that, the minorities will be neglected if the major cities are studied . They might argue that, to gather knowledge about a society in detail one must learn about all the cities of a country. For example, the social norms of the rural people might be neglected if someone emphasize to learn the major cities.

In a nutshell, to know about the salient features of a society or a culture one must emphasize on researching about its main areas as multicultural people can be easily found there. Thus, by prioritizing the information gathered from the major regions one can easily get an overview of a society.