To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Characteristics of a society, definitely an important aspect to understand how people are taking things, how things are changing, how the world is reforming. Major cities in every country underscores the current social situation, indeed major population lies in major cities so it is high likely to study those cities to understand the society. Conversely major city people aren't the only ones in the country which accounts for everything, therefore studying only major cities gives spurious representation on the society. So I disagree with the statement which shouldn't be considered as a major role.

Studying only major cities doesn't provide social situations and major issues facing by the people, because cities which already got developed and has nothing to enhance will definitely not going to reveal about the negative aspects any country. To support my statement we can take for instance India, In India we have hardly 10-15 major cities which covers most of the population and which accounts for most revenue in the country. But we have thousands of the other small towns and villages which covers half of the population. Without taking half of the population into account how can we decide something about society.

By extending the previous example I would like to ask myself a question "What is meant by society?". I come with an answer as a group of people living together and making decisions about how to do things. In major cities we can see lives of independent people who doesn't have any connections but in contrast people in small towns are more united and thinks about issues they are facing and make decisions according to all of them. The statement may be valid in more developed in countries which has nothing to do with society. But in developing countries like India the statement repudiates the society of common people. If the characteristics of major cities are playing role in the society it is evident that society has nothing to do with common people which shouldn't be the case.

I conclude by saying that to understand the most important characteristics of society one must not stick to the major cities and should be accountable to entire nation not just urbane people.