To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The author of the statement claim that to understand the most important characteristics of society, one must study it major cities. While some may argue that this statement holds true all the time, others may counter that claim by providing examples in support of their claim. In my essay, I will highlight both sides of the argument, and also provide sound reasoning for my claim.

Major cities are the backbone of a Country as they contribute majorly in the economy of a country, employing a large number of people, represent their country at the international level, etc. They are the dream cities for many not only across the country but across the globe because you will get much more as one could get in their city. But because of the urbanization and development in these cities, they start losing the important characteristic of a society. So by studying the major cities one would not get the important characteristic of a society.

For decades countries are divided into two fragments: rural and urban. In urban you will see the urbanization and development. But in rural, you will find the cultural heritage of a country and the bucolic beauty of a society, which we won't find in the urban area because of urbanization and development. For example, in a country like India if you want to understand the important characteristics of society from its major cities like New Delhi, Mumbai or Bangalore, you won't get the enough information about the culture of India, to know the culture you have to study cities Like Varanasi, Ahyodha, etc, where one will get the amply information about the culture and heritage of a society.

In a nutshell, we can say that the major cities will not provide the clear picture of the characteristic of a society, to understand the culture and heritage of a society one must study the rural area of a country.