Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

The first part of the author claims that some people believe that to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Because political leaders are the representative of the people, they are responsible for taking problems or demands of people from their constituency to the government of their state. So they must yield to public opinion as they are one who chooses them as their representative, but saying that abandon principle for the sake of compromise is not right. As it will only lead to confusion on the part of their credibility. We have several examples where the leader never compromises their principle in any situation, for example, Mahatma Gandhi the hero of Indian independence never compromises his ideology of non-violence in any case or situation.

The second part of the author claims that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives. Yes, not only the leader but also every individual should not compromise with their principles and objective. If they are not following your objective and principle then their morality will be doubted and ultimately they will turn out to be the non-reliable leader in the society and they can lose their credibility and trust of people who voted them. But according to me principle and objective should be change with the time because with time the need of the society changes and as the leader, they should understand that and make their objective and principle in consideration of society benefits.

In nutshell, we can say that an effective leader in any society is identified by his commitments towards principles and objectives; it creates a clear picture of the leader and engenders trust on him in the minds of the people, but with time their principle and objective must be change in order to continue their service for public.