To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The author of the statement claim that to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. While some may argue that this statement holds all the time, others may counter that claim by providing examples in support of their claim. In my essay, I will highlight both sides of the argument, and also provide sound reasoning for my claim.

Major cities are the backbone of a Country as they contribute majorly in the economy of a country, employing a large number of people, represent their country at the international level, etc. They are the dream cities for many, not only across the country but across the globe because one will get much more as one could get in their city. But because of the urbanization and development in these cities, these cities start losing the important characteristic of their culture and one can not understand the culture by studying them. Although you can get an idea of different cultures to exist in the country, but not an important characteristic of a society as mentioned by the author.

For decades countries are divided into two fragments: rural and urban. In urban you will see the urbanization and development. But in rural, you will find the cultural heritage of a country and the bucolic beauty of a society, which we won't find in the urban area because of urbanization and development. For example, in a country like India if you want to understand the important characteristics of society from its major cities like New Delhi, Mumbai or Bangalore, you won't get enough information about the culture of India because more than half of the population in India is living in the rural area. So to understand the culture you have to study cities Like Varanasi, Ahyodha, etc, where one will get the amply information about the culture and heritage of a society.

Secondly, to study the culture one should start from the microelement, like how people greet each other, how they talk, what they wear, how they celebrate festivals, etc, for example, the holy celebration in Vrindavan is different from the major cities and also Deepavali celebration at Ayodhya is different from major one.

In a nutshell, we can say that the major cities will not provide a clear picture of the different cultures a country holds, to understand the culture and heritage of a society one must study the rural area of a country.