To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Author asserted the fact that knowing about the major cities gives a characteristics of a society seems narrow minded approach to understand a society as whole, basically any country is divided into parts as the part with globalization and commercialization is stated as urban part and part with less exposure to globalization regarded as bucolic or rural part.

World in sense moving with a pace where the major cities of a countries had to cope-up and with competition to coping up with demands, it probably end up losing their cultural and traditional values , for examples country like India were 70% of a population lives in rural area it seems vague to simply understanding major cities like Mumbai, Delhi etc, can provide with suitable understanding of a culture and tradition regarding country.

As major cities mainly represent their nation, the essence of globalization can be sense in major cities and so cities like Mumbai consider as financial capital of India has more commercial part rather than cultural part that one can understand but it may give a superficial knowledge of a culture and tradition but to understand the insights of culture and tradition one must prefer the rural region, were the culture and tradition are still preserve in this face moving world.

Conclusively, major cities provide us with the superficial understanding of countries cultural and traditional values but tom understand the insights of a nation one must prefer bucolic or countryside parts.