“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at
Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising
our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown
Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than
9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years
ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering
great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine
Movies Galore stores.”
The owner of Movies Galore is proposing a reduction in operating expenses in all of
its chain stores. This reduction would consist of closing the stores 3 hours early and
reducing its stock to include movies released only within the last 5 years. To determine
if this proposition would be effective in increasing profits across the chain, several
pieces of additional information would be needed.
First, it is necessary to ask if the Marston store is similar to the other Movies Galore
stores. If this is not the case, the proposition might have quite the opposite of the
intended effect. The performance of the other stores would be a critical piece to this
proposition since what works for one store, may not work for another.
Second, what effect did the reduction in operating expenses had on store profits
in Marston? Because the declines in profit are termed to be “recent” and that the
reduction of operating expenses happened within the last month, this is unclear. It is
possible that only a brief period of low profits, consistent with variablity in the market,
spurred the reduction and this actually caused a greater decrease in profits. It is also
possible that no improvements have been seen in profits since the reduction,
rendering it ineffective. Data regarding profits from several months before and several
months after the reduction in operating expenses would be necessary to determine if
this reduction was at all helpful.
Finally, to what degree did each of the two changes made, closing early and getting
rid of older movies, affect profits? To determine if such a change would be helpful, it is
important to understand how each variable contributed to the end result, assuming
that it was effective. Perhaps closing early resulted in such a decline in the operating
costs as employees did not have to be paid, that the reduction in their stock was
unnecessary. It could be the the stock reduction actually decreased profits but this was
masked by the increased profits caused by closing early. A more in depth analysis of
the variables involved is necessary.