To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

It is said that studying the major cities of a society is one way to understand the most important characteristics of it. I agree with this statement to some extent.

One the one hand, big cities in each society can be a representative of it. Most societies are recognized by the special features of their cities. For example, in my country, Iran has a reputation for some of its cities such as Isfahan, Tehran, Shiraz, and Mashhad. Isfahan and Shiraz are representative of historical cities in Iran. Both of them have a long ancient background which brings honor to the Iranian people. Tehran is the capital of Iran and is famous as one of the important industrial cities in Iran, and most political activities are done in this city. Mashhad is a sign of religious cities, and it is famous for its Imam Reza mosque. But the question is whether the features of big cities can be enough for recognizing societies. Certainly, the answer is no.

On the other hand, there are other important factors which should be considered alongside the features of big cities. Some factors such as the health and education systems of the city as well as the economic and social situation of it. Has the country well-funded health and education systems? Do people have a high level of health provisions? How many numbers of people can have access to educational facilities? Has the country a good economic situation in the world compared to other countries? Do women have equal rights compared to men in their country? All these questions help us to understand the features of a society. For example, the USA is a powerful country in terms of its economic situation, and it is considered a happy country in which all men and women have equal rights in different situations. By contrast, Africa is a poor country, and most people around the world know that people in this country suffer from poverty. The majority of people know these countries based on the economic and social situations not based on the features of their big cities.

To summarize, in my view, for understanding the most important characteristics of a society, we have to check the economic and social situations of it and the study of its major cities should be done alongside them.