Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Detail understanding of the past events is a must do tusk for those in current positions of leadership.

Man makes error. No one in the material world is perfect. But those who are prudent learn from their mistakes. They analyze the past and find out the facts which caused them to suffer or find out the facts which provided them advantages from the others. A nation success is largely dependent on the virtue of the leader of the nation. The way he approaches to the present situation, the way he learns from the past and the way he thinks about the future are very important for the development of a nation. Even for a business firm, the success of the company depends on the leadership. So what does make a average man different from a great leader? A good leader never does the same mistake twice. In order to attain this success he analyzed the past. For example, Sheikh Mujib was a great leader of Bangladesh. People of Bangladesh still remember him for his contribution for the country. Analyzing the must he learnt that the people of Bangladesh need to gain political independence from the Pakistani ruler in order to gain economic independence. He analyzed the past which shows that British ruler ruled the people and during those years people suffered a lot. They were deprived of the basic human rights. So, he understood that people of Bangladesh will be never happy if they do not receive independence. From this thought, in the year of 1966 he proposed six points in front of the ruler of Pakistan which included the basic rights of the people. He declared war against Pakistan later in 1971 and encouraged people to join in the war. After a nine month of war they got their independence.

Again, the working methods of scientists show that past mistakes are helpful in order to gain a scientific revolution. Man now can fly because of the contribution of Wright brothers. However, their success did not come without trial and error. They at first analyzed the past science those of which failed the project. Then they tried to correct the mistakes and made their own trial. Even then they did not gain success at first. But after a lot of sufferings and learning from these sufferings they succeed at last.

However, it is true that condition of past may not be similar to the present. It may happen that what was valid in the past may not be a key to success in present situation but the general pattern of every event is same. General pattern does not change and hence past experience though may not be fully applicable but helpful to a great expect.

Analyzing about the past is a must for a good leader.