Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Whether universities should force students to take a variety of courses regardless the students’ field of study or not is a controversial matter. Although some people believe that universities should not require their students to take various courses, which vary from their field of study, I disagree with this statement because not only can it increase students’ experiences but also it helps them to find decent jobs; However, it should be said that universities should pay attention to the students’ talents and interests.

First and foremost, by and large, various studies have proved that students’ requiring to take specific courses improves their experiences germane to different subjects. It could be done just by studying and learning new materials which are chosen by universities. As an illustrated case, Watson and Crick, who found the double helix structure of DNA, were physicians. After their university forced them to take Biology class, they used this opportunity to expand their knowledge, and finally, they could detect the structure of DNA. Thus, to expand students’ experiences, universities should require their students to take different courses without paying attention to their original field of study.

Another thing coming to mind to substantiate this stand is that universities’ forcing students to take various courses helps students to find decent jobs in their societies. For instance, according to UT Southwestern University’s survey which is held in the 1990s, most students attending History courses could be able to find decent job not only in their society but also in other parts of world. Furthermore, it should be said that one of the major factors affecting to this option is versing in different cultures, traditions, and languages—which helps them to expand their communication skills as much as possible. These skills help students to make new opportunities regarding to their jobs in world.

Last but not least, nevertheless, the experiences, deriving from requiring student’s to take various courses, help the students, universities should pay attention to the students’ talents and interests. Because without adequate interests or talents in specific materials, the courses will be demanding and taxing.

In a nutshell, despite some people agree with this statement that universities should not require their students to take variegated courses without paying attention to their majors or field of study, others agree with the universities’ policy. As results, it can increase the students’ chances to expand their experiences, and find decent jobs; As well as, it should be said that the universities should opt the courses based on students’ talents and interests.