Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Students who graduate from universities have knowledge specific to their field of study only. A student may have superior knowledge in his field and be productive after graduation. But students fail to understand the basic activities in the society. A scientist might be good at inventing or discovering something but he might not even have basic knowledge in other areas.

It might be a good decision to impose a rule for taking wide variety of subjects. Students might not like this rules imposed on them, but it will help them to understand the basic elements that are not related to their field of study. Students need to have basic knowledge of other areas in order to know how things outside their area. It not only improves their knowledge.

But imposing a rule might be a good decision but it depends upon the area that are mandated to take. It is not relevant to ask a student with MBA as his field of study to take a course from Science subject. Although this improves the sutdent’s knowledge but it might not be helpful in future for him. It will be better to mandate courses that are more related to general activities, their major field of study , etc.

It will be better for universities to mandate only some areas of study, for a student’s knowledge improvisation, and to make other courses as optional. It is not advised to mandate a student to take some course that is neither related to his field of study, or useful for him.