Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement claims that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. I firmly agree with its viewpoint for the following reasons.

To begin with, the society we live in is becoming larger and more complex due to not only technological improvements but also the ongoing globalization. Therefore, universities are expected to develop students’ well-being comprehensively instead of requiring students to only focus on their expertise. For example, architects cannot build a skyscraper at a random street in New York City. In order to secure safety and durability of the construction, architects have to possess knowledge to evaluate conditions that should be taken care of, such as examining soil composition at the location to see if it can withstand a bulk skyscraper. Also, collecting climate data like average humidity and temperature to choose the most suitable materials in building since mantels like steel may be rusted fast in a humid area so a replacement is indispensable. All of these actions necessitates knowledge from different field of study.

Additionally, the students can achieve better academically through taking courses outside their field of study. Students can develop certain skills which can benefit their expertise. For example, computer science students can improve their writing skills by attending English-writing classes. By teaching students how to form a well-structured essay, these classes surely help students to learn how to organize their logics and expound their thoughts in a formal and elegant way. On the other hand, such training, in return, provides computer science students with opportunities to think and elaborate their ideas and it is the most important process in programming. Thus, when students are writing an essay, they are also sharpening their coding skills.

Admittedly, some may argues that it is unnecessary for students to take course outside their majors. It makes sense that for certain majors, it can be an extra burden instead of a potential benefit. For example, art students are always busy with their homework and seem to manage to catch up their due date endlessly. Their expertise lies on hand-on practices instead of knowledge from other field of study. In this case, requiring them to take part in other courses is burdening their academic life. Also, for liberal art students who don’t have majors, the requirement to take another courses appear to be redundant since they are already asked to learn all of them. However, even though for certain students it is unnecessary to follow what the statement suggests, it is beneficial to most cases.

To sum up, students who take part in courses that are outside their field of study can definitely gain more knowledge and such knowledge can favor their expertise. Therefore, I firmly support the statement’s claim.