Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.

In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to

challenge your position.

“The knowledge of all things is possible” - Leonardo Da vinci.It is true that having knowledge of multiple fields makes a person knowledgeable as well as abreast-of facts about multiple fields keeping him/her erudite. Taking variety of courses in university outside student's field of study is advantageous unless they are taken by student's willingly. I totally disagree with the statement that universities should require every student to take variety of courses outside their field of study.Taking Interdisciplinary courses in universities burgeons student's knowledge and enhances his vision broadly, however it should be a student's take entirely whether to study interdiscliplinary courses or to study the course of his region of interest.

Although deciding a curriculum is entirely the authority of the university but student's should not be enforced to take interdisciplinary courses, because this enforcement hampers the students's progress in their field of study as they have to study about things not relevant to their field. To illustrate the above statement let us look at the example of a student learning arts in well-renowned university.This student has a discerning eye in the field of arts as he likes to study about various genres of arts and culture.Is it really justifiable to compel this student to study subject of history? No, Students study in the university for limited period of time. If student's are engrossed in studying the subject's out of their interest or field of study it will be a total waste of their precious time resulting in the degradation of their performance in the universities as well as a professionalism in their particular field

Furthermore when a student tries to pursue his favorite area of specialization it is the universal fact that he/she is going to pass out as a professional of that field with a great skillset unless he has the same passion for his field during the start of his career in his area of study.When students are compelled to study interdisciplinary subjects it might happen that their interest in learning their field of study get vanished. For example a student studying dental is going to pass out with the degree in dental as is going to practice as a surgeon.Such students when are forced by university to study maths in their field of study then obviously they are going to lose their interest in studying dental as they have no interest in studying mathematics.For instance, if these students are allowed to take additional courses related to dental instead of maths they will pursue these courses with alacrity without losing any amount of interest in their core field.

On the contrary, it is very important for the students admitted to the university have to appear for the all tests held in universities to analyse their performance. It is very important to study about multiple fields before stepping out in the professional life which helps an individual to have a broader horizon of knowledge, but it is not at all justifiable to force any student to study a subject out of his liking without the proper assessment of his aptitude and analysing where exactly his inclination is.

In the conclusion,the fact that students should have knowledge other than their field of study is indisputable but on the other hand students should not be forced to take subjects out of their interest or compelling them to take subjects without analysing their aptitude.It should be totally student's decision to take subjects of their interest and capability.