Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

With the growing boom of advancement in most of the fields including science, economic et al. Every individual is expected to have diverse knowledge base. On observing the statement in the claim, the universities, however, shall not compel its students to take up the courses outside their regular field of study. This may seriously be distressing for the students, as this may result it distracting the students from their main focus on their academics.

Moreover, as the students start their academic career in universities to excel in their chosen major subjects, so taking other courses apart from their majors, may end up getting distracted and as the students are already short of time while they are in the university, they may fail to give the optimum time to the more important courses for which they have admitted in that particular university. For an instance, if a medical student takes up a course of chess and other programming courses, then they may lose their interest in the medical which could inversely affect the student's both professional and academic career.

The students are the current elements in progressing the nation's development and for this , a nation should have a skilled youth in order to prosper and developing the skill set does take lot of hard work and focused in the chosen field of study of an individual. For an instance, an engineering students shall have proper knowledge of programming language but expecting a good set of business skills is not expected from an engineer, he may help in developing important software that may widely useful and may further progress in establishing a company. Such skill sets is needed for the development of nation.

Furthermore, the students have had enough knowledge in the high schools and colleges, but in university , a student takes up courses of his own interests , so the universities should instead encourage the students to the courses which are related to their field of study. This will also help in making a strong profile and which will be beneficial for academia and professional career as well.By taking up the courses outside the field of study, it may be a possibility that the student may invest more time and money in the courses which would not increase their skills, knowledge about their chosen field and may result in paucity of grades which are necessary to withstand in the growing competition.

In addition, the universities are usually attract those students who want to secure a job in their dream companies. As the competition continues to rise, even the recruiters try to find skilled employers as to assign a particular job done in the company. Nevertheless, it is also advisable that the employer must have some basic knowledge of other fields, but this does not require that students shall take the entire courses in developing such knowledge base. The universities shall offer relevant courses to the student's field of study, for an instance, organization of computer coding camp can indirectly beneficial to develop the logical thinking of a computer science student.

In order to conclude, taking into account all the above justification about why the universities shall not the compel the students to take up courses outside the fields of study seems to be impeccable, and to develop a well-trained youth generation for the betterment of the nation and to preserve the student's area of interest.