Government shoudl offer college and unviersity education free of charge to all students.

While i agree with the proposal that government s should offer college and university education free of charge, it is necessary to weigh its pros and cons.

It should not need to be stated that a government must not undertake the such funding when it lacks the resources -- though there can be an exception to this rule if educational resources are scarce and the country is so poor that there are not enough students even to use those resources fully.

The great change for the better that education can cause in the standards of living in a country within the span of a single generation is evident in many countries.Government all over the world realize that education is the prime means of improving the human resources of a country. In many countries,schooling is sought to be made mandatory and free in order to encourage parents to send their children to school; government offer incentives, such as free lunches for students, to induce parents to send their children and to attract children to schools. No government can argue against educating its people.

There is no reason why the same idea cannot be extended to university education.The argument that the financial burden may prove to be unbearable is not tenable. After all, opportunities for university education are severely limited as compared to high school. Naturally,the rare opportunity to study in university is open only to few most meritorious students. This has the advantages of limiting the expenditure and also of ensuring that the money is spent for the higher education of the most deserving students.

The goal of free college and university education for all seems to be too idealistic , and for that reason many may consider it impossible to achieve. However, governments spend astronomical amounts on the most quixotic enterprises, like putting a man on the moon, free meals for everyone , or old age pensions for everyone. While the first idea is purposeless,the others offer no more than temporary relief from misery. All of them are inconsequential in the long run. On the other hand, free university and college education to young , intelligent students those who have untapped potential for contributing to the advancement of every sphere of a nation's life will yield great and long-lasting returns within a few decades.

A historical example of this is the Meiji Reconstruction that took place in Japan from 1868 onward. The emperor Meiji and his advisers, desiring to raise Japan to a status equal to the western countries, sent hundreds of young students to European and American Universities at government expense to study and assimilate the technologies and ideas of the West and to return to Japan to implement them. Returning from the West, within a few decades these students transformed the country, a medieval one ruled by samurai warlords, into a modern state with a parliament. The edge Japan gained then has persisted for over a century. Japan has one of the strongest economies in the world , the most intelligent and fully educated population, and a reputation for innovation and hard work.

This example well illustrates how education is the best way to enrich a society and therefore , free education -- even college and university education -- is a desirable policy for a government to pursue.