Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The students aims to join a particular university with a particular course in order to excel in the field they are interested in. But to say they should only require those fields in which they are interested in is an entirely different conversation.

The courses in universities are created in such a way that these courses not only cover the necessary information in order to excel in that field, but must be done so in order to make it more accessible to all the students. If students only choose some of the subjects in the course in their interest, the entire curriculum must accomodate so, including the coursework, faculty and most importantly their specialization degree. This will cause a serious imbalance as each student will need seperate undivided attention.

As said earlier, these courses are built in order to make that entire field more accessible to everyone. If they chose the course specific to their intereset, it might create a gaping hole in terms of understanding the entire field of study. Suppose, a computer engineer A has an interest in computer hardware, hence pick the relevent course to it. Then, another computer engineer B has a knack for software and picks a field relevant to it. Now, as we know a computer is a combination of both hardware and software, so they would need to work together and make each other understand it's functionality. If they would have taken a more diverse course that could cover both of them, then there would be less waste of time and resources on reaching the goal from both of them.

And finally, these courses are meant to be built in order to build an overall personality of the individual. Students do tend to avoid the subjects that they do not seek interest in. These subjects are meant to polish them into better overall individual, both in their respective field and nature wise. If students are given leeway in order to avoid these courses, there is a chance that in coming years, the students might not learn about things such as general etiquetes, work-life balance in order to keep them afloat in their industry, as these ideals are nurtured and are expected within an individual.

From the above arguements, it can be inferred that the students should not be given the entire leeway to select the course of their choice. But the policy could be modified in such a way that some subjects could be set as complusury and elective in the respective course that the individuals could get a chance to specialize in their field of choice.