When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There’s an assertion that historic buildings should give way to the development of modern society. However, I disagree with such views and strongly recommend that city planners should balance the advancement of modern society and the preservation of historical relics.

Admittedly, the area which is occupied by historic buildings in cities can be used specifically for the purpose of economic development, such as commercial buildings and factories. With such modern facilities, more job opportunities will be created to attract people to work, thereby improving their living standards. In this way, the long term prosperity of modern society can be more achievable. Also, it can benefit the preservation of historic relics, as an affluent society are more likely to invest more funds for preserving precious ancient buildings.

While it is true that modern buildings are crucial to the development of our society, it is equally important to remember that historic buildings have their own merits. For example, many ancient buildings have been developed for the purpose of tourism, which is a good way to discover the merits of such buildings. The operation of historic buildings as public attractions enable them to be self-funded or even contribute to the fiscal revenue of some cities, as tourists tend to be generous when visiting the tourist attractions. In short, some historic buildings also have the ability to make a contribution the economic development of the society if they are properly developed.

Moreover, the educational value of historic buildings should not be underestimated. For example, many primary and second school teachers will organise regular visiting to some historic buildings in order to inform them the knowledge of history. Students who have the opportunity to acquire such knowledge are able to develop their imagination from the structures of these buildings. Also, through learning the architectural styles of these buildings, professional architects could implement some sophisticated skills into the construction of modern buildings.

In conclusion, the extreme opinion that historic buildings should give way to modern buildings need to be seriously reconsidered when making the decision about whether to raze a historic building for commercial purpose, as historic relics have their own commercial and educational merits.