The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

The increasing number in the habitants that live on our planet presents culprit for our civilization nowadays. Some of the main causes, for the increase in figures that we are witnessing, are increased life span of humans, industrialization, technology and increased self-awareness. In my opinion, the increasing number itself is not a problem, but our human actions are those that harm us, our environment and the future generations.

Firstly, we have the most advanced civilization ever and our accomplishment throughout a history bring us to the place where we are now. As a result of scientific achievements doctors today cure more diseases than ever before. Furthermore, different varieties of a vitamin supplements are easy reachable for the consumption, and people are improving their health conditions. Moreover, technology improvements make our life better and easy-going, and the machines overtook hard intensive job positions and have extricated humans. In addition to all of this, our self-awareness has increased and we become more consciousness about reproduction and we aim to raise as more children as possible. All of these factors lead to an increase in number of today population.

On the other hand, I disagree that increasing population is the biggest problem to the world and humans. In fact the reason for all problems lies within our behaviour. Humans don’t use natural resources properly, and it leads to the big changes such as climate changes, erosion, artificially grown food and a lot of other factors that will downgrade us and our future generations.

In my opinion, to make sure that life on this planet doesn’t become endangered we need to think and act consciously. Despite number of the humans is increasing, that is not the reason for which we can say that number is harmful. The only way is to think globally, and for each move we make to think about effects it can cause. We should only make actions that will make positive effects. There is enough place on this planet for everybody, because huge areas of land are inhabited.