Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road might cause some problems. What are the problems? What could be done to solve those problems?

Many issues arise when cyclists and motorists occupy the same streets. In my opinion, this is typically the fault of the former and the solutions all relate to better urban planning.

When cyclists and motorists come into conflict on roads it is often because the cyclist has a warped sense of priority. The general rule of thumb is that when cars have the right of way, they possess the option of yielding to cyclists. Otherwise, since cars travel much more quickly than bicycles, the cyclist must allow the car to pass by first so that roads do not become congested. Unfortunately, many people on bicycles attempt to travel as fast as cars without the maneuverability, safety, or breaking ability of cars. The result is that cars and cyclists are often at odds and wary of each other or, in extreme situations, collisions may result.

The solutions to ease these road conflicts are to better plan cities and wait for automobiles and cyclists to adapt to each other. A good example of this would be some European cities like Amsterdam where there is a large percentage of people traveling by bicycle. Urban planners have created bike lanes and altered roadways to mitigate potential conflicts. Over time, with clearer rules of engagement and better urban planning, instances of road rage and disagreement have declined. Adding bike lanes is only part of the solution; it is key for planners to develop innovative solutions for roundabouts, traffic lights, and bridges that allow for a seamless flow of traffic minus the veiled aggression that typically defines the car and bicycle relationship.

In conclusion, cars and bikes are in opposition because cyclists have overestimated their mode of travel and these issues can be remedied through better urban planning. Implementing these solutions is advisable since biking is such an environmental boon.