With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people.

Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The world's natal rate is getting lower which in turn means that our society is getting older, existing more and more elderly people in need of attention and health care.

In fact, the most recent technical innovations are a big asset in these cases given that there is various medical equipment that supports nurses and professional healthcare workers in their day-to-day life during their work shifts. However, these machines need people to operate them and because of poor work conditions, with people having to work double shifts and still earning low salaries, the amount of people's interest in working in these areas is diminishing. This situation is seen in multiple hospitals and continued care facilities where, since the amount of work surpasses the facility's capacity, a lot of professionals are overworked and are mentally drained which results in them being on leave due to their health. Besides that, this situation was aggravated when COVID-19 hit. The hospitals were crowded and the medical teams were understaffed due to already not being enough professionals to deal with the pandemic and to the aggravated phenomenon of overworking the ones that were in service.

Nevertheless, the current situation can be reversed with the aid of the government. There are several careers, like working in air traffic control and politics, that earn more and have additional resources when compared to the health system and their workers. One way of acting could be by investing more in health and retrieving a part of the investments in other areas that don't need as much funding. These investments could be directed toward raising the worker's salaries and hiring more personnel. This way they would feel valued and motivated to keep working. Besides a bigger staff would make it possible for each worker to have more days off and, thus, be able to recharge and not feel so tired. In addition by observing these changes and how healthcare workers are appreciated, there would be a higher percentage of young adults interested in taking care of others and studying to do so. To illustrate this, the government of the Azores after meeting with the regional nurses union and taking into account their difficulties opened up more spots in the various hospitals and clinics throughout the archipelago. This resulted in the fill of job positions by recent nursing graduates and an increase in personnel. This way, not only a new generation of professionals was gaining experience in treating others, given that in the future could pass down this knowledge, but also the workload of the already existing healthcare professionals was decreased resulting in a better work environment and mood.

In conclusion, society is facing a crisis in the health system which could compromise the well-being of the elderly if no action is taken to motivate and reward healthcare workers.