Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

As the traffic and pollution problems are becoming more serious in today’s society, many people argue that rising the costs of fuels is the best solution for this issue. However, personally I disagree with this idea, and I believe that the government should encourage citizens to use public transport.

While it is undeniable that major cause of the increase in traffic and pollution is the use of private vehicles, higher price of petrol would have little effect on solving the problems. Even though the costs of fuels are much higher, people still prefer travelling on their own vehicles due to its convenience and flexibility compared to other means of transport. For example, during the last ten years, although the Vietnamese government has raised the fuels price to more than fivefold aiming to eliminate the use of private vehicles and protect the environment, the number of cars and motorbikes is still increasing dramatically, and the air is even more polluted. Clearly, the costs of petrol is not the answer to the issue.

To tackle the problems, the use of public transportation should be encouraged by improving the quality of this system. Public transit such as buses or trains is more environment-friendly since they can accommodate many passengers at once, leading to the decrease in the number of private vehicles running on the roads, and the exhaust fumes per capita. Therefore, governments should build more sky and underground train systems and upgrade the quality of bus services in order to attract more passengers. An example is Singapore; since the network of public transport in this country such as trains, buses and subways are highly developed, the citizens can enjoy extremely clean and fresh air and less chaotic/ chronic traffic problems.

In conclusion, I believe that the price of fuels plays no role in eliminating the traffic and pollution issue and that the use of public transport and alternative fuels should be seriously considered.