Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

History are vital in shaping the world the live in. Some people say that exploring the past is not important to the people in this modern world. this author strongly disagrees to the statement and will give her own perspective.

To begin with, there are people who suggest that studying the events and information centuries ago is not vital to the people nowadays. Firstly, people may think that it is more important to focus and gain knowledge in resolving current issues in climate change, poverty, food scarcity and crime that extremely affect the human lives. moreover, learning about history is a waste of time as this will not change the situation of the present world. Focusing in the developments and future innovations in science and technology will pose greater benefits to the society by providing comforts and convenience to day to day living.

Notwithstanding, this author argues that having knowledge about the past is of utmost importance. it is true that we are facing problems threatening the existence of human race; however, learning from historical events will give us knowledge on the changes that took place centuries ago and may propose answers to the pressing issues nowadays. Moreover, the recent advancements in modern technology and other fields of sciences will not be possible without the discoveries of the people from the past. For instance, cellular phones arise from the birth of the first telephone invented by Alexander Graham Bell. Therefore, the way we are living today and the improvements we experience, comes to life because of the past knowledge and events.

To recapitulate, despite the modernization people of the today’s world, learning about history should not be neglected as it is as valuable as learning the present and the future. I do believe that looking back in past will help us in moving forward to a greater future.