In many developing countries there is problem with declining quality of air and water from both industry and construction. What measures could be taken to prevent this?

A large number of progressive countries are facing the issue of air pollution and water contamination that is caused by both industries and construction. In order to prevent air pollution, deforestation and banning harmful chemicals can help in making the environment less polluted whereas formulating laws and penalizing industrial and construction firms can help in reducing water contamination.

Firstly, to reduce air pollution, the elimination of deforestation is vital to create a healthy environment which will reduce the allergies and skin infections that poses a devastating effect on human life. In other words, planting more trees will facilitate people with fatal lung diseases such as asthma to breathe without any difficult, thus, creating a positive impact on their lifestyle. Secondly, banning the sell and purchase of harmful chemicals that pose a serious threat to the environment and introducing environment friendly chemicals as replacement will contribute in enhancing the air quality. As a result of this measure, the ozone layer will be preserved and diseases like skin cancer caused by the harmful rays of sun will reduce drastically. For instance; Australia has introduced eco-friendly air fresheners as a contribution towards a healthy environment.

One way to minimize water pollution is to develop laws and regulations under the supervision of a regulatory body which continuously monitors the waste management process of industries and construction sites. In addition to this, imposing penalty on the firms that violates the rules would help generating revenue that could be invested in awareness programs that can help the public as to how they can make their contribution in creating an eco-friendly environment. According to a survey report published in New York Times, developing countries that have a fully functioning regulatory body has reduced water contamination by 25% as a result of the policies and mechanism created by those regulatory bodies.

In conclusion, the quality of water and air can be improved by deforestation and eliminating the use of harmful chemicals whereas setting up a regulatory body that efficiently monitors the industrial and construction sites will surely lead progressive nations towards a healthy and eco-friendly environment.