Many people say that cooking and eating at home is better for the individual and the family than eating out in restaurants or canteens.

Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, we hear so many controversial issues on home made food. It is thought by some, that cooking and eating home made food is best for individuals and families, while others opined that eating at eateries or outside the home is better. Well, I am of the opinion, that home made meals are preferrably advisable for individuals and families. In this essay, we would see the reasons why.

On the one hand, " Health is Wealth " they say, and anyone who values health would be very careful of food intake, as well as other edible products. Moreover, when eating outside the home, little do we know about the condiments used in preparation of the food, and this could result in an allergy or even turn out to be really detrimental to health.

Furthermore, research has shown that eating consistently outside the home has been a leading cause of obesity over the years. Also, home made meals improve accountability of the consumer in determination of calories taken daily.

On the other hand, the poor hygienic environment, poor cooking hygiene or poor personal hygiene of the eatery and consumer could also result in a medical condition leading to hospitalisation of the consumer but when meals are prepared at home, the individual is well aware of wellness, so every food preparation could be done under supervision, accountability and sterility.

Furthermore, most times, home made meals saves cost. A good home made meal might not cost up to a quarter/half of the amount spent on food in an eatery at the same time. Moreso, there's a certainty of the condiments used in the preparation of the food, and a way in which certain condiments which help in playing medical roles could also be added such as immunity boosters, weight stabilizers, etc. when home-made meals are prepared.

Lastly, home made meals are of great benefits to Individuals already diagnosed with medical conditions that require a routine diet e.g. Renal failure, Hepatitis, Diabetes etc. to mention a few.

In conclusion, home made meals help in calorie intake determination, cost conservation and health certainty in individuals and families.