Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a phenomenon in which more and more celebrities are striving to become popular by indicating their wealth. While some argue that the situation is innocuous, others believe that these people could generate negative influences on children. From my point of view, I agree with the latter statement that celebrities, who are well-known solely by their luxurious lives, would be wrong models for youngsters to look up.

On the one hand, there are several clear benefits created by affluent role models. One of those positive impacts would be the encouragement for the next generation to work diligently. As successful patterns could certainly illustrate their living standards are significantly more advanced, pupils could have the respective motive that if they try harder, they could probably obtain the same pinnacle as their idols. Besides, famous people can also establish numerous innovative and healthy entertainment thus could assist to reduce the criminal rate of a particular locale. That is because when people relax and have definite approaches to manage their leisure time, they are more likely to avoid a variety of social vices such as drugs, prostitution or gambling. In other words, in specific circumstances, the mentioned phenomena could be beneficial to teenagers.

On the other hand, apart from the above cases, overusing money as a mean to spread one's fame tends to cause more harm than good. Property is, as it always, a true symbol for materialism. Meaning that if students admire their models mostly because of their opulent lifestyle and assets, they would eventually assume that the one and the only way to happiness is to possess as much cash as possible, which is misleading altogether. Furthermore, following these celebrities in a long-term would result in detrimental habits for young people. As youngsters do not have sufficient awareness and experiences about life, they would have a tendency of lavishing money to afford costly clothes and features as a way to show off their personality as cool and up-to-date. For instance, colleges could spend 20,000$ to obtain a useless hat with an established brand in it to brag about their coolness and playfulness at parties.

In conclusion, whereas wealthiness could sometimes produce pros, its cons towards youngsters are still more influential.