Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?

Has this become a positive or negative development?

These days, thanks for the advance in technology, such as the Internet, people have variety of choices to communicate. Therefore, the technology has had a significant influence on society which gives an opportunity to communicate on social networks whenever they want, and all of these are provided for low prices. This essay will prove that this development is more likely to lead to the bright future.

Since its invention, the Internet has replaced traditional means of communication. The first reason for this can be the lack of face-to-face communication between individuals as they have the tendency to be online on a regular basis. For example, in my neighbourhood, people have become less sociable than they accustomed to be. As a result, the friendship among them will not strengthen, if the Internet offers a wide range of opportunities to keep in touch. Another influence can be that some online users have increasingly concerned about the quality of relationship in real and virtual communication of human being. There is an evidence that people might have a great deal of friends on social networks; however, there could be up to ten real ones.

However, despite the fact that its somehow affected the relationships, the Internet has facilitated the way of communication. First of all, now it is possible to call or even send multiple short messages to anybody in the globe. In addition, this allows to contact with relatives from overseas on a daily basis for little amount of charges. For example, desktop and mobile applications, such as Viber, has created an environment for people to send messages any time, and reply for it whenever it is convenient for them. Thus, it seems that this advance will provide even more benefits in the near future.

In conclusion, relationships among people have become more virtual due to the technology, and as a result, there is a less reliance on friends. Nevertheless, it offers inexpensive communication with local and foreign people and will have provided more services to people by the next decade.