The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In recent times, obesity has risen dramatically among the young generation especially in western countries. In this essay, I will examine the reasons explaining this trend and give some possible repercussions.

There are several causes of this phenomenon. The most important one is the availability and affordability of processed meals. In fact, in every corner of the street, we can see appetizing fast-food meals designed for children. This food is high in calories, and if consumed regularly, leads to obesity. Another reason for this trend is the lack of exercise. A good illustration of this is that just a decade ago, children used to spend their past-time playing out with their mates, while now, due to the advent of technology, they spend their spare time sitting on their sofa with their eyes glued to their computer’s screen.

The effects of this trend have been and will remain serious. In fact, obesity can have a myriad of negative ramifications on the youngsters’ health. A particularly good example of this is a study from the Paediatric Health Institute that concluded that due to the rise of overweight children, obesity-related diseases such as asthma and pulmonary infections increased exponentially. In addition to this, obesity can lead to psychological problems like low self-esteem and social phobia.

The points that I have hitherto considered lead me to the conclusion that there are several factors such as fast-food and the sedentary lifestyle contributing to the rise of child obesity and this can lead to serious health issues and psychological disturbances. It is hoped that government of the affected countries put in motion drastic actions to prevent this problem from deteriorating further.