At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.

Nowadays, in most countries the number of adults aging below 60 is higher than those who are older. While this phenomenon can bring some benefits for the society, in my view, the drawbacks of this issue is more.

The domination of young adults has a range of positive sides for both companies and ordinary people. If the majority of employees in a firm are categorized in the young age groups, the work productivity can be improved. The reason why this is assumed is that people aging between 30 to 60 are typically competent enough at their job, meaning that they have academic and practical qualifications simultaneously. As a result, company is able to earn a huge profit. In addition, being in the minority, senior citizens make less problems for the younger generation. In fact, in this condition, young adults do not have to spend a part of their time to take care older people, resulting in being more active in their families.

However, there are several negative points stemming from this new trend. Firstly, the more young adults there are currently, the more retired person there will be in the near future. Consequently, the number of people receiving retirement benefits will increase, which can make serious problems for governments as they are expected to supply required money. This is an issue that some European countries like Germany face with. Secondly, the necessity of providing the elderly with medical facilities may also increase, leading to putting extra financial pressure on local councils. Finally, the reduction in old population can be detrimental for families as there is nobody to look after the new generation when their parents work out.

In conclusion, although it seems that having more productive workers can benefit the society, I believe that the disadvantages of aging population outweigh the advantages.