Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent to you agree or disagree.

It is irrefutable that education plays an imperative role in building the successful career of a person. There are numerous fields of education and every trade has indispensable impact to construct a prosperous society. importance of arts subjects has their own influence in society. Whereas, practical degrees like Engineering, Science etc have higher demand for well-being of our society as well as the employment rate in these sectors are strikingly high. But everyone does not have same mental capacity to absorb Science or Engineering. So they should be induced to major on arts subjects according to their desire. In my perspective, both science and arts subjects play a crucial role to build well round society and thus both are required.

Nowadays, more people tend to pursue courses that can give practical knowledges. These courses have higher demand because the range of salary offered by these courses are comparatively higher than other courses. These courses acquire scientific knowledge and mathematics and experimented with to develop ways that benefit mankind, making it extremely important to society for innumerable reasons. As per as Engineering is concerned, according to a recent statistic, 70% of the Engineering graduates secured job that can ensure a bright future. But we should never forget that success comes with price.The amount of money is required to pursue these streams are really high. They will groom you with highly skilled faculties in return of high course fees. many people can not afford the course fee that is a main reason that students go for arts subjects.

On the other hand, the influence that arts subjects such as philosophy, history etc have in society is paramount. Philosophy is associated with wisdom,intellectual culture and a search for knowledge. A broad and imperial conception of philosophy finds a reasoned enquiry into such matters as reality, morality in life. In addition, history helps you to understand the past to predict the future and help in creating it. History assists to gain profound knowledge about vicissitude of human life over the decades. But it is really true that employment rate in these sectors is really less. Increasing university fee and scarce employment really makes people think twice before taking these subjects as their career, Government should broaden work prospectives of these fields and people should be propelled to choose these subjects because to build a beautiful society every trade is important.

To recapitulate, I personally think that people should be encouraged to choice their career on the basis of their interest not on the basis of salary that will be provided or the scope of that subject. I suggest that every student should have command in philosophy, history or other arts subjects even if they elect to major in the sciences because learning critical thinking skills and developing a wide background knowledge will benefit them enormously in their future life. Also, we need specialist graduates in arts subjects to make their contribution to a well-rounded society.