In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impse a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

More and more people today consume fast food, which results in several health issues. Some people believe that in order to minimize its consumption, it is the governments responsibility to raise the taxes for such type of food. In this essay I strongly agree with that opinion, taking into consideration that government’s role is to organize better life for its citizens. Higher taxes will affect the price of junk food, it will also reduce its consumption, thus bringing to better health level of the population.

It is widely known that one of the main advantages of the cenvenience food is its low price. People choose this food not merely because of its quick preparation, but also cosidering its price. For example, a person who wishes to lunch somewhere and has a choice betwn Mcdonalds and an Italian restaurant, will prefer the former due to its cheaper price, while in terms of food quality it is obvious that the Italian restaurant would win. Therefore, there is no doubt that if the increase in taxes will bring to higher prices of fast food, people will choose higher quality food over the faster-made ones.

Secondly, tax increase will lead to a change in locations of fast food, moving them far from the central streets. As a general rule, a huge portion of the product cost is the price for the rent. Considering the fact that higher taxes will forse the fast food producers to cut other expenditures, they will most probably try to minimize the renting costs, moving the business to cheaper places that, in general, are not on the central streets. On a whole, this will lead to minizing fast food usage quantity.

To conclude, I believe that as high is the tax on jank food, as less it will be eaten by the population, thus resluting in less obesity and helthier lifestyle.