In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, it is common that the young are encouraged to have a gap year before starting their university lives. This decision has both benifits and drawbacks.

On the one hand, working or travelling right after high school graduation are benificial in some ways. Firstly, school leavers have opportunities to gain valuable experience. My sister, for instance, had a trip to Singapore during her gap year. Her English speaking skill was improved a lot after three months in "Little Red Dot", at the same time, she also learnt a little Chinese and broadened knowledge about other cultures. Secondly, taking a year out helps young graduate orientate their career clearly. They can do various jobs and choose which is best for them then set a goal for their career. This ensures that they will have practical experiences and trained skills for their chosen profession.

On the other hand, there are many risks waiting for young people during their gap year. First of all, it is so hard for many people to start studying again despite the fact that a degree is very important to get a top job today. They may continue in a particular job or do something rather than an university course. Another risk is being cheated while working or travelling. In spite of being mature after graduating from high school, the young still do not have many experiences about real life. For example, they may pay something with higher price than the native when been to a strange country.

In conclusion, everything has two sides: advantages and disadvantages and taking a gap year is similar. Young people need to think carefully before deciding to have a year off.