In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is true that young people are encouraged to have a gap year after they finish their high school in some countries. while the gap year experience can sometimes be useful in life, I believe that there are still some drawbacks.

There are numbers of benefits that young people can get from taking a gap year. Firstly, it can be a great source of practice for the knowledge they gained during high school, they can transfer their knowledge to work skills. Secondly, they can earn money and support their life by themselves to live independently and reduce the burden of their family. Finally, these young people can establish their social network before they graduating from university, they can have more opportunities when they looking for a job after graduating from university, they will also be more experience and confidence to compete with other new graduates with this experience.

On the other hand, there are also some drawbacks of taking a gap year after high school. Firstly, some young people will get used to this lifestyle and have difficulty to return to school life. Secondly, it is dangerous for people in this age to travel alone or work independently, they might be scammed by criminal or try something illegal because of their naivety. Finally, it requires a huge amount of money for someone choosing to travel without working, young people might face financial issue during this period of time.

In conclusion, although it has some advantages of taking a gap year after high school, the disadvantages should also be considered before young people making this decision.